Victoria Cross Legends honoured on postage stamp as the recipients of the 2015 Australia Post Legends Award

22nd January 2015

Five of Australias most gallant and decorated soldiers have been immortalised on postage stamps as the recipients of the 2015 Australia Post Legends Award.

This years Legends Award recognises five Australians who have received the Victoria Cross, the highest honour that can be bestowed for acts of valour “in the presence of the enemy”.

The 2015 Australia Post Legends Award recipients are Keith Payne VC OAM, Mark Donaldson VC, Ben Roberts-Smith VC MG, Daniel Keighran VC and, for the first time in the Awards history, Legends status will be awarded posthumously to Cameron Baird VC MG.

Corporal Baird was the 100th Australian to receive a Victoria Cross since the award was first created by Queen Victoria in 1856.

Ahmed Fahour, Managing Director & CEO, Australia Post, said this years award honours five Australians who have demonstrated courage, commitment and the ultimate display of mateship.


See Also